The Parklands Primary School Governing Board consists of parents, staff, Local Authority and community representatives who work in partnership with the school to help provide your child with high quality education.

Our Governors regularly visit the school and they are involved in a wide range of activities covering areas including the school’s financial management, staff recruitment, health and safety, pupil achievement, the school curriculum, pupil wellbeing and the administration of Key Stage 2 SATs. Governors are linked to particular aspects of the school including curriculum areas, Child Protection, Pupil Premium and SEND.

The responsibilities of the Governing Board are to:

  • Ensure that the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school are clearly defined;
  • Ensure that the Head Teacher performs his or her responsibilities for the educational performance of the school;
  • Ensure the sound, proper and effective use of the school’s financial resources.

To do this effectively, the Board meet at least once per term to discuss whole school issues and progress against objectives and to receive feedback from the two sub-committees – Leadership & Management and Teaching & Standards. Every governor is required to attend one of two formal visit days held each year. These principally allow governors to:

  • Appreciate and understand the work of the staff and how the pupils are learning.
  • Be aware of the response of pupils to their work and check that the pupils are aware of what they are learning.
  • Understand resource issues facing the school.

Visits also allow those governors with specific remits – such as safeguarding and special educational needs, to ensure the school is complying with its statutory duties.   Our Governing Board is as follows:


Mrs N Hall – Chair of Governors Teaching and Standards Committee (SEN Governor)

Mr E Aylett – Vice Chair of Governors

Mr D Patel – Teaching and Standards Committee (British Values & SMSC)

Mr M Giddy – Chair of Teaching and Standards Committee

Mr N Frost – Teaching and Standards Committee

Mrs N Franklin – Leadership and Management committee

Mrs M Stephen – Teacher Governor

Mrs E Andere – Co- opted Governor

Mrs Helena Broad – Parent Governor

Governor attendance

The governing board can be contacted on the following address:

Parklands Primary School
Havering Road,
Romford, RM1 4QX